Hockey tournament at ice arena begins Sept. 25 |

Hockey tournament at ice arena begins Sept. 25

Provided to the Tribune

The Western States Hockey League will hold the second annual Western Shootout Hockey Tournament at the South Lake Tahoe Ice Arena beginning Sept. 25.

The tournament features five junior-level teams: Capital Thunder (Roseville, Calif.); Utah Grizzlies (Salt Lake City); SoCal Bombers (Long Beach); San Diego Surf and the Phoenix Polar Bears, last season’s national champions.

Seven games will be played beginning Sept. 25 with the Capital Thunder versus Utah Grizzlies at 8:15 p.m. and ending Sept. 28.

The Western States Hockey League, affiliated with USA Hockey, has been in operation for nine years and produced three national championship teams in that time.

More information can be obtained by calling the ice arena at (530) 542-6262.

Support Local Journalism

Your support means a better informed community. Donate today.