Neitling wins firefighter race |

Neitling wins firefighter race

Dan Thrift/Tahoe Daily Tribune Mike Shreve of El Dorado Hills Station 86 foreruns the course at Sierra-at-Tahoe before the start of the Ryan Shreve Memorial Firefighter Race on Wednesday.

South Shore’s Abe Neitling led a group of four locals with his first-place finish at the inaugural Ryan Shreve Memorial Firefighter Race on Wednesday at Sierra-at-Tahoe.

A firefighter at South Lake Tahoe Fire Department, Neitling won the dual slalom race and was followed by Brennon Davis (Lake Valley Fire Department), Mitch Underhill (Lake Valley) and Sean Ward (Diamond Springs).

Forty-two racers representing seven different fire departments in Northern California participated. The race was named in honor of Ryan Shreve, a 1997 South Tahoe graduate who died on Oct. 27, 2003 due to complications from a wakeboarding accident on Folsom Lake.

Shreve was a firefighter for El Dorado Hills Fire Department, which had several employees who competed in Wednesday’s race.

“It was designed to commemorate my son’s involvement in ski racing and with Sierra-at-Tahoe,” said Mike Shreve, Ryan’s father. “The guys had always wanted to participate on Ryan’s turf. They were able to do that.”

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

For tax deductible donations, click here.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User