Pop Warner: South Lake teams show true spirit | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Pop Warner: South Lake teams show true spirit

Showing the true spirit of the blue and gold of the South Tahoe Junior Vikings, three local Pop Warner football teams headed into last weekend’s Northern Nevada Championship Snow Bowl with determination, sportsmanship and respect. Capping off a great season were the midget, junior midget and junior peewee teams, with the mitey mite and peewee teams ending their good seasons the previous week. Cold, crisp air and snow set the scene for the day.

The midget team played Winnemucca in the Saturday matchup in Sparks. Looking as they had its opponent’s play book, South Tahoe’s defense held strong against a tough Winnemucca offense. The Junior Vikings scored early in the first half on a Mikey Van Gorden quarterback keeper from 40 yards. Winnemucca scored just before the half to tie the score at 6.

South Tahoe’s defense held strong for most of the game with outstanding effort by Jonathan Vasquez, Max Meeker, Brian Marshall and Brent Abrams. Winnemucca scored twice on two big plays in the second half, ending up with the winning score of 19-6.

Coach Mark Garratt says the team came together over the season, ending up with the Snow Bowl berth. The climatic end of the season was shared by teammates Brent Abrams, Brian Barnard, James Barnard, Matt Bobman, Donnie Burt, Jacob Cain, Kyle Churchill, Andrew Contreras, Mike Dalmacio, Eric Domingo, Bryan Finkel, Nick Garratt, Jake Giffin, Jerry Howard, Justin Howard, Cory Jackson, David Kolstad, Kyle Lee, Brian Marshall, Max Meeker, Jose Rodgriguez, Stephen Rothenberger, Thomas Rothenberger, Joshua Shindelbower, Vincent Stagnaro, Jake Tibbetts, Daniel Tinlin, Mickey Van Gorden and Jonathan Vasquez. Many of these players will head to South Tahoe High School’s freshman football team.

Another defensive battle was brewing in the game between South Tahoe’s Junior Midgets and the team from Dayton. Having lost previously in the season to this opponent South Tahoe knew they were in for a tough game. Three quarters of strong defensive playing on both sides was overshadowed by one quarter of scoring by Dayton. Plagued with injuries during the game, South Tahoe lost 14-0.

A great season for the junior midgets put them into the championship round. Led by head coach Pat Baginski, the team experienced a lot of growth and development. Christian Anton, Tyler Baginski, Ryan Buchan, Michael Burghard, Mark Dalmacio, Ryan Duin, Tommy Franks, Jacob Guthrie, Randy Henson, Kyle Jones, Evan MacLean, Curtis Maxwell, Matthew McMaster, Dennis Merritt, Ian Morris, Kyle Maro, Glenn “Buck” Pershing, Nolan Regan, David Sabistina, Matt Shively, Justin Stanton, Spencer Swearingen, Chris Swinger, Haven Wilvers, Zachary Witt and Jason Whalen finished up the winning season for the junior midgets.

Some of these players head on to the high school, but many will be back for more Pop Warner wins next season.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User


See more