Timberwolves pack ’em at finish line | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Timberwolves pack ’em at finish line

After a mediocre showing at Kahle Park two weeks ago, the South Tahoe Middle School sixth- and seventh-grade boys implemented their pack attack strategy with positive results Oct. 8 at Pau-Wa-Lu.

The Timberwolves finished with five runners in the top 8 and two more in the top 14. Cody McGehee returned to first place, running the 1.9-mile rocky course in 13:34. Not far behind were teammates Bryan Kurek in third (14:05) and Steven Grant, fourth (14:08). Joshua Mason followed in sixth (14:18); Bryan Finkel, eighth (14:20); Alex Sharp, 12th (14:41); and Corey Vermillion, 14th (14:49). Sixth-grader Garrett Gibb placed 22nd (15:20); while Sean Maher improved to 42nd; Martin Rider, 45th; Charlie Odlin, 49th; Greg Koeck, 50th; Pedro Gonzales, 74th; Evan Sarosik, 65th; and Tom Mooney, 67th.

The pack attack strategy also helped the sixth- and seventh-grade girls place four runners in the top 8. Lacey Leonard was the top Wolf, placing second in 14:38. Colleen Sheehan improved to fifth (15:39); Bailey Flood, sixth (16:01); and Ashley Bratton, eighth (16:12). Molly Adams was 23rd in her best finish while Ashley McGehee followed in 24th. Jessica Bettencourt and Stephanie Morrow improved to 28th and 29th respectively. Denise Martinez took 34th, Jennifer Bigelow 56th, and Alicia Hudson, 72nd.

The South Tahoe eighth-grade girls dominated their competition while placing five runners in the top 11. Amber Ramos remained undefeated as she easily won her 2.4-mile hilly race. No times were available in the eighth-grade divisions. Teammate Dondra Biller ran her best race yet as she moved into sixth place. Megan Comlossy took eighth, Amanda Hammond improved to 10th, followed by Norma Lizarraga in 11th. Rounding out the team were Aricela Ramos in 17th and Alisha Bettencourt in 18th.

The bright spot on the eighth-grade boy’s team was Scott Brower’s fifth-place finish, his best in two years. Zack Powers was the top Timberwolf as he placed second for the third time this season. Brian Marshall hung on to 20th, while Matt Moore improved to 28th. Peter Maes was 30th; Tyler Rieger, 31st; Nick Suarez, 32nd; and Isaiah Mason, 42nd.

The Tah-Nevaa League Championships are Thursday at 2 p.m. at Fuji Park in Carson City.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.

Start a dialogue, stay on topic and be civil.
If you don't follow the rules, your comment may be deleted.

User Legend: iconModerator iconTrusted User