Woods makes first Sierra Nevada Sports Media team | TahoeDailyTribune.com

Woods makes first Sierra Nevada Sports Media team

Joey Crandall

Jared Wood was South Tahoe High’s most consistent basketball player in 2004-05. No wonder then that the versatile junior was selected to the first Sierra Nevada Sports Media All-Northern Region boys’ second team.

Editors, broadcasters, and writers from the the Tahoe Daily Tribune, Nevada Appeal, Elko Daily Free Press, Lahontan Valley News, The Record-Courier, KVLV Fallon, KELK Elko, the Humboldt Sun and NevadaPrep.com participated in the voting process.

Wood averaged a near double-double in leading the Vikings to a 12-win season. He scored 16 points and pulled down 9.8 rebounds per game.

“There weren’t a lot of ups and downs to Jared’s game,” said South Tahoe High coach Derek Allister. “He scored for us, he handled the ball for us, he rebounded for us night in and night out.

“Obviously if Jared Wood continues to progress, he should be a really, really nice player for us next year.”

Wood was also selected first team all-Sierra Division first team and second-team all-Northern Nevada by the league’s coaches.

Galena High reaped the rewards of its regional championship season as guard Derek Lorenzen, who also earned first-team honors, was named the boys’ player of the year and coach Tom Maurer was named boys’ coach of the year.

The boys’ first-team was rounded out by Douglas sophomore center Keith Olson, Reed forward Kevin Berry and Hug guard Armon Johnson, who were both unanimous selections, Reno forward J.J. Mulligan and Manogue center Franklin Igbekoyi.

Olson finished fifth in player of the year voting with eight points. Lorenzen received six first-place votes and 36 points from the nine-member voting panel.

Reed’s flashy point guard Maria Moore narrowly edged Reno’s Kaylan King for girls’ player of the year honors.

King received five first-place votes, more than any other player, but Moore received a more consistent vote total across the board, tallying 34 points to King’s 33.

King and Moore joined Douglas forward Erin Brinkmeyer, Reed forward Erica Maldonado and North Valleys center Anita Burdick on the first-team list.

Reno coach Craig Campbell was named girls coach of the year, narrowly defeating Spring Creek’s Andy Morris, 31-29.

Douglas’ Werner Christen was fourth in coach of the year voting with 20 points and one first-place vote.

In the voting process, players were given two points for first-team votes and one point for second-team votes. The highest vote-getter at each position was awarded first-team status, and the second-highest earned second-team status.

Each voter submitted their top five player of the year and coach of the year candidates with first-place votes receiving five points and fifth-place votes receiving one point.

– Tribune Sports Editor Steve Yingling contributed to this story.

2004-05 Sierra Nevada Sports Media

All-Northern Region Awards

(* – unanimous selection)


Player of the year

Derek Lorenzen, G, Galena

Coach of the year

Tom Mauer, Galena

First Team All-Northern Region

Keith Olson, C, Douglas

*Kevin Berry, F, Reed

J.J. Mulligan, F, Reno

Derek Lorenzen, G, Galena

*Armon Johnson, G, Hug

Franklin Igbekoyi, Util., Manogue

Second Team All-Northern Region

Luke Babbit, C, Galena

Kenny Viser, F, Manogue

Cameron Bayne, F, Carlin

Joey Golaw, G, Wooster

Jeremy Lattin, G, Reno

Steve Stern, Util., Fallon

Jared Wood, Util., South Tahoe

Jeff Weed, Util., Fallon

Travis Creed, Util., Manogue

Jake Albin, Util., McQueen

Northern Region Honorable Mention

Tim Wholey, North Valleys

Colby Satterthwaite, Spring Creek

Eddie Cranford, Hug

Trent Wood, Dayton

Issac Porter, Hug

Gratton Miller, Elko

Dylan Johnson, Yerington

Sean Sims, Reed

James Edwards, Spring Creek

Blaze Griffin, Lund


Player of the year

Maria Moore, G, Reed

Coach of the year

Craig Campbell, Reno

First-team All-Northern Region

Anita Burdick, C, North Valleys

Erin Brinkmeyer, F, Douglas

Erica Maldonado, F, Reed

Kaylan King, G, Reno

Maria Moore, G, Reed

Johnna Ward, Util., Spring Creek

Second-team All-Northern Region

MacKenzie Butler, C, Reno

Brittany Puzey, F, Douglas

Katarina Olivo, F, Fallon

Liz Lewis, G, Fallon

Tera Tremayne, G, Battle Mountain

Caitlin Anderson, Util., Galena

Northern Region Honorable Mention

Andrea Hoff, Carson

Robin Swain, North Valleys

Brittany Moore, Reed

Elise Leader, Lowry

Dominique Pavich, Galena

Amanda Sbragia, Dayton

Felicia Booth, Lovelock

Mary Alice Palmer, Reed

Sarah Hughes, McQueen

Ashley Sloan

Taylor Altenburg, Elko

Kristen Walker

Michawn Rich, Reno

Nicole Scott, Carson

Player of the year voting

(First place votes in parentheses)


Derek Lorenzen, Galena (6) 36

Kevin Berry, Reed 28

Armon Johnson, Hug (1) 27

J.J. Mulligan, Reno (1) 12

Keith Olson, Douglas 8

Luke Babbit, Galena (1) 5

Jeremy Lattin, Reno 4

Joey Golaw, Wooster 3

Franklin Igebekoyi, Manogue 3

Travis Creed, Manogue 2

Steve Stern, Fallon 1

Cameron Bayne, Carlin 1


Maria Moore, Reed (1) 34

Kaylan King, Reno (5) 33

Johnna Ward, Spring Creek 13

Anita Burdick, North Valleys 11

Erica Maldonado, Reed (1) 8

Tera Tremayne, Battle Mountain (1) 6

Liz Lewis, Fallon 6

MacKenzie Butler, Reno 5

Elise Leader, Lowry 4

Cisca Moore, Spring Creek 4

Erin Brinkmeyer, Douglas 4

Caitlin Anderson, Galena 3

Robin Swain, North Valleys 1

Coach of the year


Tom Mauer, Galena (2) 26

Rob Streeter, Dayton (2) 21

Rick Stevens, Manogue (1) 21

Paul Gray, Reed (1) 18

Hector Buckaneri, Virginia City (2) 14

Eric Swain, Reno 8

Brian Voyles, Hug 7

Chris Klekas, Elko (1) 5

Corey Thacker, Spring Creek 4

Kyle Cerfoglio, North Valleys 4

Daron Wildermuth, Yerington 1

— The Sierra Nevada Sports Media All-Region teams were voted on by editors, reporters and broadcasters from NevadaPrep.com, the Nevada Appeal, the Tahoe Daily Tribune, the Elko Daily Free Press, the Lahontan Valley News, the Humboldt Sun, KVLV Fallon, KELK Elko, and The Record-Courier.

Support Local Journalism

Support Local Journalism

Readers around the Lake Tahoe Basin and beyond make the Tahoe Tribune's work possible. Your financial contribution supports our efforts to deliver quality, locally relevant journalism.

Now more than ever, your support is critical to help us keep our community informed about the evolving coronavirus pandemic and the impact it is having locally. Every contribution, however large or small, will make a difference.

Your donation will help us continue to cover COVID-19 and our other vital local news.


Mt. Rose names Gavrilets new general manager

INCLINE VILLAGE, Nev. — Mt. Rose Ski Tahoe announced that Greg Gavrilets has been hired as its General Manager, replacing long-time ski area leader Paul Senft, who retired after a 42-year career with the resort.

See more